The Curse of Tippecanoe (The 20 Year Presidential Curse)

The Curse of Tippecanoe is the name given to a freakish pattern of presidential deaths.

From William Henry Harrison to John F Kennedy, every president elected on a score year (a year divisible by twenty) died in office.

Tippecanoe was a nickname given to Harrison, the ninth president of United States, after he defeated  the Shawnee at the  Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811.

The Death of William Henry Harrison
The Death of William Henry Harrison (1841)

Presidents affected by the curse:

William H. Harrison: Elected 1840
Succumbed to Typhoid on April 4, 1841

Abraham Lincoln: Elected 1860
Assassinated  on April 15, 1865

James A. Garfield: Elected 1880
Assassinated  on September 19, 1881

William McKinley: Elected 1900
Assassinated  on September 14, 1901

Warren G. Harding: Elected 1920
Succumbed to a heart attack on Aug 2, 1923

Franklin D. Roosevelt: Elected 1940
Succumbed to a Cerebral hemorrhage on April 12, 1945

John F. Kennedy: Elected 1960
Assassinated  on November 22, 1963

Ronald Reagan, elected president in 1980, was critically injured by a gunman on March 30, 1981. He was close to death upon arrival at George Washington University Hospital but survived his injuries. 

The curse of Tippecanoe appears to have run its course

Curse of Tippecanoe (2:05 minutes)

Play Video

Leave a comment